Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Banks

These days, days, days, run away like horses over the hill

My brand new short story collection, This Thing You Humans Call Love, is now available for you to order.

Don’t be misled, there are no space aliens in this book, though there are a lot of odd creatures and strange new worlds.

Short stories are my favourite things to write. You don’t take an eternity to plan and draft one, you can get right down to business, and if you get it wrong, it’s no big deal to redraft, or simply move on to the next one. If there is such a thing as a professional short story writer, then that’s what I’d like to do when I grow up.

With one glaring exception (which you can read here), these stories are all set in and around Glasgow, or have a very strong connection to the place.

I’ve chosen July 3rd 2016 as my launch date quite deliberately. It marks 30 years since I first started writing a big project, when I was just a kid. It’s the equivalent of Hal 9000 coming online, or Roy Batty being born… hang on, it’s nothing like any of these things.

It’s also the 30th anniversary of the day I found 50p in the street and bought a comic with it. I was delighted with that result.

Anyway, I like the symmetry of it. Hey, I bullshit for a living.

I hope anyone out there crazy enough to buy this book enjoys the tales. I put a lot of me into them. Comparatively speaking, it won’t cost you very much at all.